How to set up the Files application
This GroupCamp FAQ explains how to configure the Files application privileges for users.
For Files administration functions, please read this page: File Administration - Transfer files ownership.
Go to the Admin panel and then click the Privileges tab. In the List of privileges menu, expand Applications > Files.
To learn more about privileges, you can read this FAQ: How to grant privileges. How to use Profiles of privileges.
A file uploaded in a project is owned by the project.
This privilege allows to modify access rights and add or remove files sharing with other projects or users. These actions can be done in the Places where this file is shared tab in the Information panel of a file (see screenshot below).
For example: A project shares a file in Read only mode with other projects and colleagues with whom they want to collaborate on the file. There are several options for these projects and colleagues to be able to collaborate on the file:
- Access rights for colleagues can be set as: Read only or Update
- Access rights for projects (and their members) can be set as: Read only or Read only + Comments or Update.
Default access rights when a file is shared
When a file is shared with another project, the right of access Read only or Read only + Comments applies. This can be configured in the Project settings.
The default access right when a file is shared with other users is Read only. This does not need to be configured.
This privilege allows :
- to change the ownership of the file for another project or user.
- to delete the file and remove it from all places where the file was shared.
This privilege allows users to transfer file ownership or delete a file permanently for all projects or users.
Users with this privilege can permanently delete any file by clicking on the Information panel of a file and clicking on the Trash icon.
This privilege give access to the Home > Files > Administration section to manage files from deleted projects and users. This article explains that: File Administration - Transfer files ownership.
The section explains GroupCamp applied rules when deleting a file located in one of the folders of a project (including Shared with the project folder).
The project owns the file
If the file is not shared with any other projects or users, then the file is deleted permanently.
If the file is shared with other projects or users and was not sorted in a folder (the file can be found in the folder(s) Shared with me / Shared with the project), then the file is deleted permanently from the owner project and from the its other file locations in shared folders.
If the file was shared was sorted in one or more folders within the Files application of another project or user (in their Home > Files application), then the file will not be deleted in locations where it has been shared. The file will no longer appear in the owner project’s folder. The owner group keeps its access rights to the file.
Note: To permanently delete a file from the project and from all the places it has been shared (other project and user), use the Trash button located in the file’s Information panel.
A window shows where the file is located and asks that you confirm its deletion.
The project does not own the file
If a file is removed from the project (deleted from the sorting folder or from the folder Shared with the project). The project keeps access rights.
In the event the project is the last one to delete the file, the file will be permanently deleted
Items feed and Recent items feed
Deleted files are not removed from feeds. The Update tab in the file's Information panel indicates when and who deleted the file.
This can be done in the settings of each project. Tasks, milestones and other items will continue to have attachments when the Files app is disabled.
To find out more, please read this FAQ: How to set up projects
When private objects are enabled in a project, the Private checkbox is displayed in the upload form. It allows collegues that are member of the project to flag files as private, and is helpful if files should not be seen by guests in the project.
A private file cannot be shared with other projects or users. If a file is shared and you make this file private, all projects and users access rights will be removed. The file can only be seen in your project.
Note: To use private objects, they need to be enable in the project settings. For more information, please read: Share projects with your clients and partners.