Use Private Objects in a project with clients
Private objects are meant for experienced GroupCamp users familiar with projects management. Private objects will give you the ability to hide applications and application items from "guest" type of users.
In this article:
- Enable the private object feature in your account
- Activation in a project
- Persistence of private objects
- Rules for private objects
Go In the Admin panel.
> Click on the Project folder then click on the Group settings icon.
In the Settings tab, check Enable the "Private objects" feature.
Private objects allow you to hide applications and items from your guests.
When private objects are enabled in a project:
- Milestones, Timelog and Wiki applications can be private.
- in the Tasks, Files and Discussions applications, you can create private items such as task lists, files, or topics.
- in the Overview application, Private objects can only be seen by your colleagues.
To learn more about private objects, please read this article: Use Private Objects in a project with clients
Private objects can be activated in the Configuration tab located in the Group settings window of a project.
When you disable private objects:
Applications will no longer be private.
Topics, Files,Tasks list and Milestones items will however remain private. To make an item non private, you need to edit the item and uncheck the Private box.
Information panel of a private object
When an item becomes private, followers that do not have access to private objects will continue to see the item in their Inbox application. However, they will no longer have access to the item's informational panel. The only possible action for the user is to Stop following this item. Email notifications will not be sent.
Colleagues have access to the item,
in the Group feed, the posted private items' information panel are not accessible.
Private objects are filtered in the Applications feed & Recent items.
When a topic is private, all posts related to this topic will be private. When a post is both shared in a group feed and in a topic of the Discussions app., and you decide to make this topic a private object, then the post will be removed from the group feed.
A private file cannot be shared with other groups or users.
Private items (Tasks or Milestones) are filtered.
When a milestone is private, associated tasks list are automatically private as well.
When the Milestones app. is private, then all project milestones are automatically private.
When a tasks list is private, all tasks are also private.
When a task is in a private list, you will not be able to assign a guest for this particular task.
When a guest is assigned to a task, and the tasks list becomes private, the assigned guest will no longer have access to the Information panel of this particular task.
The application can be private.
When the Wiki app. is private, then all Wiki pages are private.