In GroupCamp’s latest version, we have replaced priorities with tags. Tags as opposed to priorities work across all projects. Following this release, you might need to address the following items or issues.
Due to the fact that a tag is available across all projects, you might need to manage duplicates.
Also you may need to decide which users based on their roles are allowed to manage tags.
NOTE: following this update, only users with the Administrator role can use or edit tags. People with other roles (Manager, Users, Guests) do not have access to tags. This will allow you to manage and merge duplicates before giving access to tags to all users within the account.
Managing and merging tags
If you were using priorities in a project in the Tasks application, those priorities are now tags and therefore are visible in all projects.
So if you had a tag called ‘design’ in one project and another one called ‘Design’ in another one, you would now have 2 tags serving the same purpose and should probably be merged.
To merge tags click on the + icon next to the tag then click on the merge icon in the pop-up as shown on the first screenshot. Once you click on OK, a single tag is kept and can be used in all projects.
Giving access to tags in application settings.
Once your new tag list has been cleaned up, go to the new Settings page to manage access to tags by choosing who can view and manage them.
To manage application settings for Tasks go to the Project Menu in the left sidebar then click on Tasks.
Dear GroupCamp Users,
As you may know GroupCamp is getting ready to launch new offerings for the end of this year and we needed a new User Interface (UI) which would easily accomodate those new applications while keeping or improving your existing user experience.
We are happy to announce that the user interface is ready to be launched and this blog post describes the main changes in the upcoming UI.
1. Introducing the new sidebar on the left
The new User Interface has a new sidebar on the left. The project browing menu therefore moves from the top menu bar to the side bar (click on My Projects). You can also, if you are an Administrator or a Manager, create a new project right from the side bar.
You’ll also see a mention of ‘Open Projects’. I’ll cover this with further details below.
Please note that you can hide the sidebar on the left by clicking on the toggle icon in the top menu bar.
2. New Packs in the left hand pane (Network, Tracking)
The sidebar on the left is where GroupCamp’s new application packs will appear. So you can already see what will be the premise of our planned Enterprise Social Network offering (under Network) and our Tracking offering which is where we hope to bring tracking features such as Expenses and Project costs (on top of the existing time tracking features).
Following our recent release of the new Timelog and Timesheet application, many of you have provided very valuable suggestions and feedback. We have implemented 2 of the most common suggestions as described below:
- when editing the existing time records for a given week, you can now change the date using a date keeper (so you can move the record to a different date and not only to a different day of the week),
- Managing access to time record entries: you can now restrict access to time records so that a project member cannot see the time records entered by other members of the project.
Changing the date on a time entry
Next to the already entered time records you now have a new date picker icon that allows you to set the record to a different date.
The following pop-up window will be displayed:
Because most projects include repetititive work, recurring tasks allow you to be more efficient in generating recurring tasks across multiple task lists and projects. The screenshot below shows the recurring task creation form:
As from now in collaborative task management we will consider :
- Regular tasks: implying one assignee and one task creator,
- Parallel tasks: 2 or more members assigned in parallel on the same task (please read our blog entry on parallel task assignment).
How do application settings in GroupCamp work?
Rights and permissions are desgined to be simple to use with three levels of permissions:
Administrators or Managers: only users who have been assigned the role of Administrator or Manager hold that permission
Users of the primary company: all users of the primary company (the company that owns the GroupCamp account) will hold that permission,
All members: GroupCamp Poject allows you to invite clients and partners in a project, which means they would also be included in that level of permission. (Invited Guests are from companies which are different from the primary company that owns the account).
Example in task management:
Note : The Manager role can only be assigned as from the BEST plan of GroupCamp Project. The Administrator role however exists in all plans.
As you know we are planning significant changes with the new Tasks application. This week we are releasing two new features in the Tasks application of GroupCamp Project which are Start Dates and task progress with Percentage Completion. Those 2 features are available as from the PLUS plan of GroupCamp Project and can be enabled or disabled in the Tasks Application Settings.